South Men v Dumbartonshire

The second match of this years Scottish Mens Area Team Championship:
The South Mens Golf Team hosted Dumbartonshire at Southerness on the 5th June in the second match of this years Scottish Mens Area Team Championship. The team for this match was:
Taylor Kerr (Thornhill)
Cameron Gray (Southerness)
William Squires (Kirkcudbright)
Iain Rae (Dalbeattie)
Mitchell Cowie (Dumfries & County)
Ian Brotherston (Dumfries & County)

The course was in excellent condition and was playing very firm and fast providing the players with a true links test in the strong wind. The South Team needing a win after losing their first match away to Ayrshire got off to a great start playing solid golf and winning all 3 of the morning foursomes to lead 3-0 at lunch.
Wins in the top two singles matches from Taylor Kerr and William Squires was enough to secure the win and a further win from Ian Brotherston was enough to see the singles tied 3-3, giving the South a 6-3 win.
The final match is on 10th July against Angus at Southerness where the South team will need a win and hope that other results go their way to have a chance of reaching the finals weekend at Powfoot at the end of the season.

Full results
Taylor Kerr & Cameron Gray (South) beat Ian MacCalman & Gavin Roger (Dumbartonshire) 4/3
Ian Brotherston & Iain Rae (South) beat Craig Bissett & Eamonn McElroy (Dumbartonshire) 4/3
William Squires & Mitchell Cowie (South) beat David Lindsay & Max McCluskey (Dumbartonshire) 2/1
South 3 Dumbartonshire 0

Taylor Kerr (South) beat Ian MacCalman (Dumbartonshire) 3/2
William Squires (South) beat Craig Bissett (Dumbartonshire) 1 hole
Cameron Gray (South) lost Eamonn McElroy (Dumbartonshire) 1 hole
Iain Rae (South) lost David Lindsay (Dumbartonshire) 5/4
Mitchell Cowie (South) lost Gavin Roger (Dumbartonshire) 1 hole
Ian Brotherston (South) beat Max McCluskey (Dumbartonshire) 5/4
South 3 Dumbartonshire 3
South 6 Dumbartonshire 3
Thanks to Southerness Golf Club for the courtesy of the course and the superb hospitality throughout the day.

Left to right
Mitchell Cowie, Cameron Gray, Iain Rae, Taylor Kerr, William Squires, Ian Brotherston.