The last competition of this year’s junior order of merit was held recently at Southerness Golf Club.  With a good field of competitors and a strong wind blowing there were still lots of points up for grabs.

Young Ellie Harkness braved the elements and all the boys to take 50 points in the girl’s competition and win the girls handicap order of merit trophy.

In the boys handicap competition there was only 20 points separating the top two. Lewis Cheetham put together a solid round to collect 40 points and stretch his lead over Callum McMillan.

Cameron Gray was too far out in front to be caught at the top of the under 15 scratch competition but with prizes to fourth and only 60 points between the next 7 boys there was still lots to play for.  Mitchell Cowie took the 50 points moving him up to fifth spot but just outside the placings. Jamie Allison’s 20 points moved him up two places to finish as runner up and demote Finlay Copeland to third place by only 10 points.

Forty points was the difference between Nathan Watson and Angus Bendall in the under 18 scratch section and with Nathan collecting 30 points behind Rowan Marchbank 40 points and Callan Harkness 50 points, Angus couldn’t make up the difference and he finished as runner up.

Thank you to all the clubs for their support in running the order of merit competition throughout the year. Special thanks to all the young golfers’ who participated and to their families and friends for transporting them across the region.


Girls Order of Merit

1st Ellie Harkness (Loch) 2nd = Kendall Burgess (D&G) Maria Cowan (St Med) 4th = Penny Fairbairn (Crich) Katie Malcolm (D&C)

Boys Handicap Order of Merit

1st Lewis Cheetham (Loch) 2nd Callum McMillan (Kbt) 3rd Ethan Coltart (D&C) 4th John Rodger (Kbt)

Boys Under 15 Scratch Order of Merit

1st Cameron Gray (Kbt) 2nd Jamie Allison (D&C) 3rd Finlay Copeland (D&G) 4TH David Sharp (D&C)

Boys under 18 Scratch Order of Merit

1st Nathan Watson (Kbt) 2nd Angus Bendall (CD) 3rd Rowan Marchbank (D&G) 4th Callan Harkness (Loch)

The Photograph shows the four winners: Nathan Watson, Ellie Harkness, Lewis Cheetham and Cameron Gray.