The James Erskine South of Scotland Order of Merit reached its conclusion at the last of the eleven counting events at the Shamash Trophy at Brighouse Bay on Sunday 20 September. Martim McNae (Lochmaben), by virtue of his second place finish (after a 3 hole play-off), consolidated his lead to win his first Order of Merit title.

He showed his prowess over a variety of links and parkland courses in Dumfries and Galloway by winning stroke play competitions at Portpatrick (JAL Brown Trophy) and Dumfries & County (Brotherston Trophy) and the Dumfriesshire match play at Lochmaben.  In addition he had four second place finishes at the Dumfriesshire Championship (Lochmaben), South Championship (Powfoot), Douglas Maxwell (Kirkcudbright) and the Shamash Trophy (Brighouse Bay). Martin also had a third and fourth place finish and all this despite an operation in the spring from which he did not regain full fitness till the end of June. A wonderful record of consistent golf and a very worthy champion.

David Brodie (Wigtown & Bladnoch), last year’s winner, chased Martin all the way and did not give up his title easily. He won the Wigtownshire Championship and match play titles and was runner-up at Portpatrick (JAL Brown), The Southerness Challenge, Kirkcudbright (Douglas Maxwell) and Lochmaben (Lennox Trophy). A great effort from David and another good season.

In third place was Chris Corbett (Dumfries & Galloway) who won two consecutive local competitions in the middle of the season at The Southerness Challenge and Stranraer (MacRobert Salver) and was the best local player in the Sutherland Chalice at Dumfries & Galloway. He also had two top four finishes at Brighouse Bay (Shamash Trophy) and Kirkcudbright (Douglas Maxwell).

Ross Murray (Southerness) held off serious challenges from three Powfoot members, Liam Carruthers, Michael Grunwell and Iain Thomson to finish in fourth place. He won the Kirkcudbrightshire Championship and Match Play titles and the Douglas Maxwell at Kirkcudbright.

The Executive of the South of Scotland Golfers’ Association are very grateful to James Erskine, Golf Professional at Dumfries & County for his very generous sponsorship of this competition and all the Clubs for hosting South events and local Open Competitions.

Order of Merit top ten

1          Martin McNae (Lochmaben)                          762.5 points

2          David Brodie (Wigtown & Bladnoch)           560.8

3          Chris Corbett (Dumfries & Galloway)           460

4          Ross Murray (Southerness)                             300

5          Liam Carruthers (Powfoot)                             296.7

6          Michael Grunwell (Powfoot)                          270

7          Iain Thomson (Powfoot)                                 265

8          Clark Riddick (Southerness)                           241.7

9          Alan Birdsall (Dumfries & County)               235

10        Danny McConnachie (D&C)                          220

The  photograph shows James Erskine presenting the Order of Merit trophy to Martin McNae