Two Open events, the JAL Brown at Portpatrick and the Southerness Challenge, as well as the County Championships of Dumfriesshire, Kirkcudbrightshire and Wigtownshire, have been decided and apart from one old name at the top of the leaderboard it is the new guard who are contesting this year’s Order of Merit in the early stages.

Dougie Borland (Southerness) leads last year’s winner, David Brodie (Newton Stewart) by 25 points by virtue of his top finish of the South Members in the Southerness Challenge and his victory in the Kirkcudbrightshire Match Play. As usual the very consistent David, second in the JAL Brown and second placed South player in the Southerness Challenge, is not far away and remains the player to beat in the season long Order of Merit

Fraser Hughes (Newton Stewart) and Matthew McCulloch (Portpatrick) lie in third and fourth place respectively. They have just returned from university life in USA for the summer holidays and their practice in warmer climes over the winter is paying dividends. Matthew won the JAL Brown and Fraser was third.

Michael Grunwell (D&G) last year’s runner-up, is not far behind and lies tied for eleventh spot. With three counting events to be played over the next three weeks a burst of good form could elevate any of the field to the top of the table.

Top Ten standings

1          Dougie Borland (Southerness)                                    305 points

2          David Brodie (Newton Stewart)                                 280

3          Fraser Hughes (Newton Stewart)                                195

4          Matthew McCulloch (Portpatrick)                              175

5          Clark Riddick (Southerness)                                       165

6          Craig Smith (Dalbeattie)                                             160

7          Andrew Kerr (Crichton)                                             145

8          Neil Hamilton (D & G)                                               140

9          Connor Bennewith (Newton Stewart)                     135

10        Dean Armstrong (Lochmaben)                                 130